Film Review: Mortdecai (no spoilers)

I do have many other blog post ideas, but I thought I’d do the film review on this one first, as it’s a very recent film.

Let me start by noting that the internet seemed to have torn this film apart. I know imdb is not the be all and end all in film ratings, but 5.5 Stars is really undeserved. I simply felt the complete opposite while watching it: Finally a modern film that’s right up my quirky street! While watching I was always engaged, never got bored and didn’t really notice the time go by.

The film is about slightly criminal but charming art-dealer Mortdecai (Johnny Depp) who is called upon by policeman Martland (Ewan McGregor) to help in the case of a painting theft. Mortdecai is facing a little crisis with his wife Johanna (Gwyneth Paltow), as she has a strong disliking for his newly acquired moustache. Does Martland, helplessly in love with Johanna ever since University, want to exploit Mortdecai’s absence? But no matter what challenges he faces, Mortdecai can always rely on his loyal servant Jock (Paul Bettany), who will always (seriously always) be behind his master.

The story is fresh, fast-paced and constantly winking at you. It doesn’t want to be realistic, it wants to entertain. And it certainly does. The story has a few surprises along the way. It’s nothing to leave you gaping, but the film always stays interesting to keep you engaged.

For me the character dynamics are the real driving force here and make the whole film so entertaining. Depp’s stuck-up Englishman is so hilarious! I especially loved his constant worry and constant question „Jock, is everything going to be alright in the end?“  Paltrow’s Johanna is a great character who exactly knows her strengths and uses them accordingly. Together they make a lovely couple- Johanna is in charge of everything, of course. The way she is physically made sick by Mortdecai’s moustache (and his sympathetic gag reflex) is such an odd and brilliant idea. Who thinks up that kind of thing? I haven’t read the book the film is based on (Don’t point that thing at me by Kyril Bonfiglioli), so I don’t know what’s adaption and what’s taken from the original. Anyway, Martland’s infatuation with Johanna and Jock’s utter and complete loyalty are also worth mentioning- the character dynamics really are superb.

The visuals are nice and simple, no fancy special effects. The look of the film is very pleasant, the costumes are great and underlining the characters without actually standing out as costumes. The sets and locations fit perfectly and I especially loved the opulently decorated rooms of the upper class of art dealers. All in all very pleasant to watch- especially as it was just a nice and plain 2-D film. As you see, I’m rather traditional regarding films. I like to watch a 3D film once in a while and some really work their magic (Iron Man 3- I assume thanks to Weta Digital 🙂 ), but I have a feeling that it’s more straining to watch 3D rather than plain old 2D.

It’s a fast-paced, fun watch that doesn’t take itself too seriously. It’s silly and knows it. I would definitely recommend this to people who want to watch a light-hearted film and just have a good laugh alone or with friends. In my cinema the audience was laughing a lot and I myself had tears in my eyes at some point… Just enjoy it and have a good time!

I respect everyone’s opinion. This is mine. Please respect it, too 🙂

About Trampoline Nerd

I’m someone who feels at home in the night sky, on the road and inside imagination.
This entry was posted in Film Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

