The Slow Train

I like travelling. Just for the sake of being on the road. And sometimes I take the slow train, the one that stops everywhere. Just because I can. I love being able to properly feel that I am moving to a different place. Not just step on the train, distract myself, step out somewhere else. Travelling is no convenience, it’s a pleasure. It makes us appreciate the fact more that we have the opportunity of rapid transport.

For me the slow train is not a waste of time, but time out. As I look at the landscape drifting by my mind wanders and yet I am strangely in the moment. It’s not about: „What do I have to do? Where do I have to be?“ I am there. I am travelling. And that’s all I need to do. At home I sometimes think that there is not enough time for everything, so I try to do five things simultaneously. On the road I’m content with sitting, watching and thinking – and that’s all part of the same thing. There is something calming about switching off while being on the move. Maybe the distance I cover while doing nothing serves as excuse – I did something. I travelled.

But maybe it’s the sensation of not being anywhere that makes it special. I have things to do at the library, shopping is on my list as well… But on the slow train I’m in between- I’m neither here, nor there. So everything goes on hold for just a little while. And it’s okay to hit that pause button. Of course I usually take the fastest train, but every now and again, when I know I can afford the time I will board the slow train. I enjoy the little village stations and the wide and varied landscapes or cityscapes. You really get to know the region. I like being acquainted with my surroundings. Whenever I can, I walk. When I can take the bus instead of a train that’s a little faster, I will. And I take the slow train once in a while to get my head free and feel the calming sensation of travelling.

About Trampoline Nerd

I’m someone who feels at home in the night sky, on the road and inside imagination.
This entry was posted in Thoughts, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

