Food and Cooking

Next to Knitting, Cooking is also one of those hobbies I never thought I’d have. When I was younger I was quite a difficult eater. Didn’t like this, didn’t like that and never wanted to try new things! And then I became a vegetarian when I was around 13, even though I wasn’t that keen on many types of vegetables. I just needed pasta to be happy. But much has changed since then.

I am still a vegetarian, but now I eat all sorts of vegetables. I obviously still have my likes and dislikes and pasta still makes me very happy indeed! But I try new recipes, new ingredients and new cuisines. I think it all started when I went on a short school exchange to Japan. My parents feared I would starve. But it was amazing! Japanese food is simply gorgeous, even for people like me that have never been keen on fish. My hosts knew what I didn’t eat and were so kind to make lovely food for me – and I tried everything. It certainly opened my eyes.

Still, at home I never really helped much in the kitchen (shame on me!). I didn’t know many recipes when I left for my first year of University. So it was value pasta and cheap pizza for me… My second year was a proper year abroad in Japan and I really miss the food! I lived with a host family and my host mother was an amazing cook. Dinner was family time and it could take up to 2 hours. I learned to eat slowly and simply enjoy the food. This was another change to my eating habits. I still like to eat dinner while watching a TV series, but it is tastes much better when you actually take yourself time. Slow down once in a while.

So when did I start to enjoy actual cooking? When I returned from Japan I lived together with three flatmates. One of them is now my fiancé, but at the time I felt like I had to step up my game “against” the other two (lovely!) flatmates, who were girls. They were both really good at cooking and I felt I was lagging behind. So I tried out new recipes now and again. When the two of us then moved together in our very first “private” flat, I made use of the nice little kitchen we had as much as possible. And I was surprised at how easy and simple some really tasty meals can be.

By now I have built up a broad recipe portfolio, but I still love discovering new ones on a regular basis. I’m not a great cook, but I think I’m quite decent by now and there are actually a few things we prefer making ourselves, rather than going out and buying it (caramel shortcake, for example). So I assume I’ve been successful in my attempt to become a better cook. For those who love eating cooking is definitely a good hobby to have. It’s nice that you also continue learning all the time. I haven’t quite decided what we are having for dinner tonight, but I do have a few recipes I would like to try out some time soon!

About Trampoline Nerd

I’m someone who feels at home in the night sky, on the road and inside imagination.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

