Regrets

I believe that everyone has some regrets in their life. Some have more, some less. But the feeling is one of the most persistent ones we have. You may forget about it for a while, but it will always come back. Regret for something you didn’t say. For something you said. For not having followed your heart. For not having tried something when you had the chance. For missed chances. Missed opportunities. Missed memories.

But this shouldn’t drag us down. It’s just a reminder that we are all human. We all make mistakes. We all say things we don’t mean. We all don’t say all we mean. And we all share that strong feeling of regret. It’s okay. We learn from mistakes. We learn to be better than we were. And even if we can’t always take control, experiencing regret teaches us something. That something we have to find for ourselves, though.

It has taught me to live every day to the fullest. There are times when I wanted to do something, but just put it off. I am still putting it off. So I have learned to be more spontaneous. I like going on spontaneous weekend trips. You never know if you can do it next week or next month. So why not now? If there is nothing obvious speaking against it, why not now?

And like this I am starting to regret less. I just go out and travel when I feel like it. Of course it doesn’t always work. But when the opportunity is there, why not seize it? Yes, I still say stupid things I wish I could take back. Yes, I still wish I would have gone to a Ryokan while I was in Japan. But by listening to my heart more, I am trying to regret less. And live more.

About Trampoline Nerd

I’m someone who feels at home in the night sky, on the road and inside imagination.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

