Singing in a Chorus

I’m actually not a great singer, but I love singing nonetheless. When I was at Uni I was invited to one of my friend’s choir performances and I enjoyed it so much, that I joined the chorus myself the next semester. I am now working, but have gone back to my Uni choir after a couple  of years break and I can only say that I have missed it so much!

I like singing for myself and I discovered the joys of karaoke on my year abroad in Japan, but I would never say that I have an amazing singing voice. That is why joining a choir is the best way forward in that case! Many people, like me, actually just don’t have the confidence to sing out loudly in front of people, but a choir gives everyone the opportunity to do so. Strength in numbers, as they say. Even if you are not confident with the notes at first (I can’t even read music properly…), you will soon pick it up. And if 10, 15, 20 other people sing the same thing, you also get the confidence to sing out loud. And that is a wonderful feeling.

I’m not a sporty person, so there is kind of no vent there for me. But singing does a similar thing, I think. It’s just liberating raising your voice in song. We spend so much of our day quietly typing on the computer, maybe have a few meetings or two, but other than that the voice is just used for communication. Singing however gives a new meaning to voices. It’s very empowering to listen to a song we have practised with the choir and to realise that we have actually done something beautiful with our voices. The beauty of music, the beauty of art 🙂

As I said, I am not very musical, but I believe that everyone can sing. You just need the confidence. And the chorus gives you that. Yes, some people have far better and more beautiful voices than others and many famous musicians are unique because of their unique voices. But all in all everyone can sing to a degree, I believe. And again, the chorus environment helped me to become bolder and more confident and at the end of last semester I was hitting notes, I never knew I could reach!

I do miss the theatre (I haven’t been involved in a play for over a year 😦 ), but being part of this choir is helping me feel better already. I love learning new songs for our repertoire and gradually bulding up the confidence to try out difficult notes. It’s a great learning experience for me and at the end of a semester it’s always wonderful to hear what we have achieved as a group. We all grow as individuals, but we wouldn’t be able to do that without the group. So I’m looking forward to what this semester holds in store. On to more singing!

 

About Trampoline Nerd

I’m someone who feels at home in the night sky, on the road and inside imagination.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

