Game Review: Star Wars – The Force Unleashed II

I was very impressed by Star Wars – The Force Unleashed, so I was quite looking forward to playing the sequel The Force Unleashed II on my Xbox 360. While it is a good game and is definitely worth playing, it does fall short of expectations – precisely because it is so short.

Without giving much of the plot away (for this game and the previous one), the story follows on from part I. That being said, the scope of the whole game is much smaller and for that reason feels more like a final chapter for part 1. In a way it feels like a DLC and as such would be absolutely perfect. It adds another 4 hours or so to the story. As an add-on for part I perfectly acceptable. As stand-alone game a little weak. The game offers some “Challenges”, but these won’t add much for skilled players (and can be very frustrating for casual players). In my opinion some really good opportunities have been missed, as a Dagobah “dream” sequence could have been absolutely amazing. As it is we only get a cut scene, but no actual game play.

But it’s not all doom and gloom. I would still recommend this game and if you can get your hands on a second-hand copy and you are aware of the short story mode, there should be nothing to stop you from enjoying The Force Unleashed II. The story is very linear and can feel rushed at times. The final boss fight can drag on a bit in comparison, but can only be described as suitably epic. And if you make the “right” decision at the end, you will be rewarded by a lovely ending. I would call it a really satisfying ending for the Force Unleashed series and I’m glad they added it here in part II.

The actual gameplay and the controls have been improved in my opinion. The level-up system is much more straight forward and simple (probably because of the limited options) and because of that I felt more in control. I could vary my attacks without button mashing and actually had a good overview on what the character can do. In general the controls of the Force Unleashed series feel pretty epic and are quite fun.

This is a very short review, but it’s somehow due to the short game time itself. There is not much to say about it other than as long as you are aware of its shortcomings, I would highly recommend this game for fans of Force Unleashed I. I think it doesn’t make much sense to play this part on its own, it should always be seen as a final chapter for part I. Just enjoy it!

About Trampoline Nerd

I’m someone who feels at home in the night sky, on the road and inside imagination.
This entry was posted in Game Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

